We Are Each Someone’s 8 Year Old Boy

This is not written in anger as much as passion and concern. Well. Maybe anger. Sincerity. Yes, I think that’s it.

I started the morning with the news that an 8 yr old boy was killed yesterday, April 15, 2013, at the Boston Marathon, due to an explosion. I further read of the tragedy to the rest of his family. Of course, my thoughts were of sadness and sympathy for the mother and father. Selfish thoughts, as well, questioning why do some live and others don’t. Why a little boy? Why not me? That his work is done here, that seems the most obvious and that he will continue. My work is not done here. I think life is spherical, not linear. Some actions cannot be helped. Others can.
Last night I felt for the Boston community and for everyone that might have a link to Boston. At times like this, though, we are all from (Boston). I missed my mother as the memories of her sharing her hometown with me, came reaching up to grab me. She would have been sad, but she would have been immediately thinking what to do to help.575764_516513691719581_1317859136_n[1]
Through the day, I have come to what has really been bothering me as I listened to the news, read some blogs.
Where is the outpouring of concern for the damage we cause to people in other countries? Why, when I post about human trafficking; drones continually flying over Pakistan in spite of mothers begging for us to stop; our government taking over agricultural land in other countries in exchange for allowing us to continue polluting while others starve; and the stories I post of war in other countries and the carnage – why do most not react? Or they make excuses? Or think it’s okay because we are helping the unfortunate (Code for Americans are better than anyone).
Last Fall I posted an article on FB about a drone attack by our country; more innocent women and children killed (40) than any who were “threats”. I asked for reaction, and stated those whom we kill are someone’s child; when we kill, we birth a terrorist. There was little response.
Don’t misunderstand. I am not anti-American, but I am “anti-we-are-better-because-we-are”. We are so hurt and outraged over Boston. And New York. We should be saying, hey, what drove someone to do this? Obviously someone wanted to make a statement. Someone(s) do not agree with our policies. Let’s take a look at that.
We express outrage over gun violence. Shouldn’t we be outraged over violence? Do I ask too much? Or not enough? I chose other discipline over spanking my children, because I didn’t want to teach them power over another is across the board justified. How could I tell my children not to hit, and at the same time, hit them? So how can we talk about gun violence being wrong; and be outraged over 9/11 and Boston; while at the same time we continue to indiscriminately bomb innocent women and children in the name of some unidentified threat?
I will mourn the passing of a little boy. I will continue the message that through tragedy there are lessons. Life is precious. The individual life and the collective. It is what we add to the collective, as individuals, that is important.
A couple of weeks ago, I teetered on the edge of living and not. I have struggled with this since. I have decided it’s not important that as an individual I am still here, but my ability to positively add to what others do.
As we struggle to grieve and recover from this senseless tragedy on Patriot’s Day 2013, the message is not that the lives lost in Boston are more special than lives lost in Afghanistan, Iran, or wherever, but that all lives are special. We are to remember we are each someone’s 8-year-old boy.
6 thoughts on “We Are Each Someone’s 8 Year Old Boy

  1. Amen! I said that yesterday, then couldn’t log in.

    Anyway, I wonder what chance there is to ever recognize that treating other people’s children as simple commodities for profit or political or personal statement merely invites retaliation and, in the end, leaves our parents’ children and ours outside the community to which they would claim to belong.

    • I always consider there is more than a chance. I believe in the overall goodness of humanity. To give up would be to give in to defeat. But it takes courage and fortitude – and faith.

Leave a Reply

