Consistently Inconsistent

“A woman’s life can really be a succession of lives, each revolving around some emotionally compelling situation or challenge, and each marked off by some intense experience.” ~ Wallis Simpson

Yes, and hence seemingly “consistently inconsistent”.  “But I thought you said yesterday…” is sometimes spoken in my presence. “A woman’s right to change her mind” is a right I exercise. 

In recent history, it’s been brought to my attention that my writing is passionate and resonates. I had never thought much about it in that light. I write what comes to me as I am thinking, or of things I have read, experienced, or am learning.

So it was with this thought in mind that lead me to write this post today. I was thinking “who am I?”  While I did not come up with an answer with any particular staying power, it is my answer of the day. In no particular order.

I love music in general, but am fond especially of classical. I love some poetry. Quiet evenings by the fire at the end of a busy day. Curling up with a good book under a quilt.

Running. Long walks. 

Wine.

I am constantly striving for the ultimate life experience. Because I have to have all the answers? I’m not sure.

I have a need for perfection. I have however, come to understand the need to at times, let go of the need for perfection.

I get my inspiration by different means. Random people. Random interactions.

I am creative.

I like “duck” boots and garden shoes. High heels. Black when the occasion calls for black. Colors when life is colorful. I love to run barefoot in the grass. You will most often, during all seasons, find me in flip flops.

I am silly at times and have a need for laughter more than to what I am exposed. Sometimes I am completely ridiculous.

I am emotional.

I am an activist.

I have been told I have a heart as big as the earth. I know I have a seemingly endless ability to love. 

I am passionate. About everything. Sometimes everything all in one day. All at once.

Fiery. Timid. Quiet. Loud. Opinionated. Thoughtful. Restful. Restless.

Someone often misunderstood.

I am consistently inconsistent.

This is who I am today. Someone I have always known, but haven’t always recognized. I love me.

And in return, I am happy to let you be  —– who you are.

Be well. Be happy. Be you.


Leave a Reply

