Wish Upon A Star

It is said that if you wish upon a shooting star, your wish will come true. From my limited experience, you better have a wish at the ready, because those stars come and go quickly! But it’s always fun to try.

If you could wish upon a star now, what would you wish? Would you believe in that wish? At least for the moment? I think most of us would. There’s something magical about stars. “The stars are the jewels of the night, and perchance surpass anything which day has to show.” (Henry David Thoreau) I have lived in the country all of my life and have seen stars in the sky on a regular basis, yet I never seem to take them for granted. Some nights they are not as bright; some nights you can’t see them at all; at other times, there they are in all of their glory. Valiantly shining.  Even on the nights you can’t see them, like friends, you know they are there.

I have a friend who is all about astronomy.  Indeed, he is of some renown in the field.  My husband and daughter also love to study the stars. Many a time they have set their calendars to remind them of a night there will be a show of shooting stars. Staring at them by the hour in wonderment.  Picking out constellations. Shouting exclamations of “There’s one!” “And another!”  “Did you see that one? Wow!”

While I have at times been fascinated by the science hidden in these glittering objects above my head, and have hung on the words of my astronomy friend, for me, they are not something complex. For me, stars represent optimism. They remind me that even in the deepest, darkness of the night they bravely burn on through. Indeed, it is impossible to see them without the dark. Isn’t it true that on those occasions when life seems to hand us our darkest moments, that is when we aspire to burn more brightly?   When I was a little girl and I had a particularly tough problem to sort through, I would rush to make sure I captured sight of the very first star of the night that I might make a wish and have it come true. Sometimes, it indeed did. Whether it was the magic of the star that made it so, or simply my deep belief that it would, I didn’t need to know. I believed. That was enough for me.

Like you perhaps, I have been known to lie in a deck chair; on the ground; or gaze out a window to catch sight of those brightly burning diamonds of hope and energy. They are often so bright that indeed, I feel as though I can reach up and touch them. I see in them the reflection of all that is right in the world and all that is to be made right; filling me with hope, encouraging me to burn brighter.

I hope that you, too, will see the stars. Make a wish. Let the stars fill you with awe, wonderment, and optimism. Burn brightly as you are to do. Expect the unexpected.

Leave a Reply

